When To Call Out?

m0fugga

May 13, 2015
So I'm pretty new to cycling and brand new to the forum. I've been reading many of the etiquette posts because, basically, I don't want to be clueless when starting out. I know a certain amount of transgressions can be forgiven but I'd like to get past this stage as quickly as possible. I ride in an area where I'm lucky enough to have a fairly lengthy bike path to ride on reducing the coincidence with motor vehicle traffic. However as you can imagine, especially between the hours of 5pm and sunset, it can get pretty crowded. I had a couple of instances where I wanted to call out, but felt I was too far away to not be shouting at them but if I opt to close on them more (which I opted for) I'm too close for them to react. Is there a happy medium? To be fair, I'm out there to get some exercise so I'm going as quickly as I can (16-18ish) and in both cases, these individuals were definitely not interested in exercising, or indeed even eventually arriving at their destination. Two were riding side by side, entirely oblivious to the fact that they exist on a planet occupied by other inhabitants trailing a dog on a leach behind them and the other was a stoner on a longboard weaving back and forth literally taking up the entire path. My closing speed being what it was, I was concerned that if I called out too far off, they either wouldn't hear me, believe I'm addressing someone else, or think I'm yelling at them (which I could really care less if they think that). But obviously, waiting too long isn't working so I'm just wondering if any has some best practices they'd like to share or other insight. Thanks in advance.