When to upgrade bottom bracket and crankset

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Greenoas

I've been riding for about 6 or 7 months now and am considering some local off-road racing
this spring.

I have a stock Jamis Dakar (2002) with a pretty low end set of components. My question is- if I were
to look at upgrading performance, where would I see the most improved performance? It looks as
though I can shave a pretty significant amount of weight if I switch out the bottom brack and
crankset (Shimano Alivio), but does that really get a performance gain?

Thanks,

In article <7RyY9.35084$AV4.2344@sccrnsc01>, greenoas <[email protected]> wrote:
>I've been riding for about 6 or 7 months now and am considering some local off-road racing
>this spring.
>
>I have a stock Jamis Dakar (2002) with a pretty low end set of components. My question is- if I
>were to look at upgrading performance, where would I see the most improved performance? It looks as
>though I can shave a pretty significant amount of weight if I switch out the bottom brack and
>crankset (Shimano Alivio), but does that really get a performance gain?

No, and you could probably save more weight for less money with some ultralight tubes and
folding tires.

The thing you will learn about riding hard on mountain bikes is that they eat parts. Don't replace
anything that isn't broken, it'll break soon enough. On a 6-7 month old bike there is probably not
much to replace that would yield better function, and lightening a mountain bike piece by piece is
never going to be cost-effective.

Brakes are sometimes an exception especially on cheap mountain bikes - if the brakes are poor
quality you will want some better ones especially on front.

If you get hooked on racing you are probably going to learn a lot more about the type of bike
you want to ride, when you are ready to replace the Dakar you will regret every extra penny you
put into it.

--Paul