Where do i purchase a new bike?

Thomas Russo

Feb 22, 2016
I'm new to the cycling community, and I was wondering what type of bike I should purchase. I am not terribly familiar with all the different types of bikes and different manufacturers, and I need your help. I live in an area where there are not many bike shops, and they typically sell basic mountain bikes, and other inexpensive options for children. I was wondering if there was a major company that strictly sold bikes and bike parts? Thank you!

How far are you from the nearest city? Would spending a Saturday in that city shopping for a bike sound a good idea?

That could do it, but nothing like doing some online search first and some calls, surely after that we can get a good idea of what we want and we can just go ahead and buy it.

My suggestion is the bike shop. Don't buy from an online store particularly if you are not well versed with bikes. Try to find a bike store no matter if it's in the next city. The store attendant can assist you and give suggestions and even pointers on what bike is good for you relevant to your purpose. The bike store is the best place to buy a bike since you can try to bike for a road test.

Reactions: sonipat
Corzhens is right.