Where do you set your front brake?

trinogt

Feb 29, 2012
I like to have my brakes ready to stop me as soon as I start pulling the lever... However, when I pull the brake quick release to remove my front wheel, I can't get the tire to clear the pads... It's as if the cam doesn't allow enough movement when released. My question to you all is, do you just adjust your pad clearance so that the tire can just sneak by with the open QR, meaning more lever action is required when it comes time to brake? Or, do you start messing with your barrel adjuster every time you want to remove your wheel?
(I hope you know what I am asking here lol)

Because I am new to road bikes, I don't know what is the norm. My bike is stock, running 700X23 tires.

I get them as close as possible without rubbing when I ride. I think you are OK, just deflate the tire a bit to get it out or a good smack should force it out as well.

That's pretty much where I am set now; Takes a bit of a pull to pass the pads, but will still go. Would just be nice if it would clear, you know? Maybe the brakes just aren't designed as well as others? Anyone else?

FWIW. I don't set my pads as closely as many others apparently prefer to ...

I reckon that I can slip a [COLOR= #ff0000]popsicle stick[/COLOR] between my brake pads & the rim.

If you insist on having your pads only a hair's breath away from the rims, then one way to alleviate your 'problem' is to consider wheels with wider rims ([COLOR= #ffa500]e.g., 622-17, once a very common size ... there are WIDER rims than that[/COLOR]).

Hmmm... That is very interesting, alfeng. It makes good sense, too; I think I read somewhere recently about wider rims for other benefits, too.

Originally Posted by alfeng .

I reckon that I can slip a [COLOR= #ff0000]popsicle stick[/COLOR] between my brake pads & the rim.