where to begin???

atomship47

Aug 21, 2006
i'm breaking several bb nettiquette rules by starting a new thread with this. BUT, i'm new here and this new post gives me a chance to consolidate my questions into one thread. oh, and it gives me a chance to get some attention.

i'm new to cycling. familiar story...i've tried various "methods" for getting in shape. seems like they have always caused more health problems than they remedy. so far, cycling has been the exception. i never realized it would become part of my "being" rather than just a healthy activity.

i started cycling a few months ago. it didn't take long (or, rather, it took too long!) to realize my huffy "blade" just wasn't going to do the trick. i had no idea what i wanted or needed so i went "cheap" when i upgraded. i was able to get a diamondback wildwood that was left over from last year for $200.

ok, intro fluff aside, here are some areas where i need help. i would appreciate any advice or comments....

where do i position my feet on the pedals? in the begining, i tended to put the arches of my feet over the center of the pedal...especially uphill or against the wind. now, i've discovered i can keep a steadier cadence by placing the balls of my feet over the center of the pedal. however, sometimes i slip or my left heel brushes against the rear spokes. should i go with toe clips or upgrade my pedals?

also, my bike seems to be "front-end" heavy. for example, when i let go of the handlebars (not that i do it a lot), the front wheel will rather drastically turn to one side. is there a "normal" set up for the balance of the front wheel?