Which bike to get...

PTolley

May 24, 2016
Ok so I'm new to completely new to cycling. My wife is a runner and now wants to start to cycle so I said I would ask well. We have gone and looked at a few bikes ando I am stuck between two. I went and rode a 2016 specialized roubaix sport and really liked it but I plan on going to ride a tarmac sport this weekend. The Roubaix was very comfortable and felt great but I feel like I will get into cycling and want something more along the lines of a race geometry. Now I will say we plan to commute to work, 6.5 miles or 11.5 depending on where I work that day, so want I really want to know is the Roubaix going to be that much more comfortable of a ride?

Over 11.5 miles comfort isn't going to too much of a concern. Your wife is a runner...ANY bike is going to be more comfortable than pounding the pavement. <insert smilie here>

What are your approximate ages, local road conditions and what are the longest distance rides you plan on undertaking?

Seriously, ride the Tarmac. Its a great race bike, not that the Roubaix is not. The Rou can tackle the worst roads in Ohio and Flanders (no difference there, really) and that is what it is designed to race over...really crappy roads.

If you are not going be constantly going over really crappy roads the Tarmac and 25 MM tires not at max. pressure is comfortable enough for most riders. A good fit, a good saddle and plenty of time in that saddle will be all you need.

Last edited:
Thanks campybob I didn't think the short commute to work would be uncomfortable I just know we have been looking at a few trips that are around 100 miles round trip, not that we will be doing that in the beginning. I was wanting to go with the Tarmac but the wife kept trying to talk me out of it so I guess I just needed someone else on tell me that it would be a good bike.