Which MTB - Trek/Jamis/Merida for Newbie?

oldchic

Mar 18, 2005
Hi Everyone
I would love to hear your unbiased opinions re the following bikes:
Trek 4500
Jamis Dakar Sport
Merida hard tail with mainly xtr and deore components
I am an obsolute beginner and want to spend around $500-$800 on a MTB to see how I like it (I suspect I am going to love it) and in around 12/18 months get a "better" bike.
I have gone to loads of bike shops and have gotten so much conflicting advice as to which bike is the best - I am beginning to see bike salesmen in the same light as used car dealers!
I want to use the bike for mainly(80%) off-road/mountain bike riding.
I would really appreciate any opinions as to which of the three bikes would be best suited for my needs.
BTW - two of the bikes are 2nd hand and the Trek 4500 is new.
Thanks a lot for all your input!

oldchic said:
Hi Everyone
I would love to hear your unbiased opinions re the following bikes:
Trek 4500
Jamis Dakar Sport
Merida hard tail with mainly xtr and deore components
I am an obsolute beginner and want to spend around $500-$800 on a MTB to see how I like it (I suspect I am going to love it) and in around 12/18 months get a "better" bike.
I have gone to loads of bike shops and have gotten so much conflicting advice as to which bike is the best - I am beginning to see bike salesmen in the same light as used car dealers!
I want to use the bike for mainly(80%) off-road/mountain bike riding.
I would really appreciate any opinions as to which of the three bikes would be best suited for my needs.
BTW - two of the bikes are 2nd hand and the Trek 4500 is new.
Thanks a lot for all your input!