Which races to enter??

memphiscyclist

Dec 19, 2003
I am new to USCF licensed racing and am not sure about which races to enter. I see the lists of races forming on the USAcycling website, however I have no idea where to go from there. Some are crits and some are RRs, but I'm not sure which races I would be qualified for since I am only cat5. Also, I've done several none licensed RRs, but no crits yet so I am a bit wary of starting out in a criterium. Any suggestions? Thanks.

In the MD/Del./VA area, the majority of the races are crits., with only a few road races throughout the year.

I'd say go out and do some crits to start with. They really get your racing legs and skills up to speed fast. Plus you'll be able to find them a lot more frequent on the local level.

Find a local race team, and see if they have had the district meeting yet. This is when they set the races, and where they are going to be. They will be able to give you a reasonably more accurate schedule than just the usacyling site. A lot of times, things get input much later than they are submitted.

Daremo is right, I'm going to start racing in Cat 5 this season as I am new to the RRs myself. Because I live in Florida their aren't many RRs in the South Florida area, most are northern florida or out of state. So what I have decided is to race in the crits and work my way up though I do hope to get into some RRs.

I hope you have been training because the crits are really fast.

Originally posted by Daremo
In the MD/Del./VA area, the majority of the races are crits., with only a few road races throughout the year.

I'd say go out and do some crits to start with. They really get your racing legs and skills up to speed fast. Plus you'll be able to find them a lot more frequent on the local level.