Why do clydes avoid the climb?

Mr. Beanz

Aug 18, 2015
I know some people don't have long sustained climbs on their side of the world but here we do. I've been doing serious climbs since 1997. Still at 57, 260 pounds I'm still going at it.

What really puzzles me is that going up the mountain, I see 99% skinny guys. I think the 1% of big guys is me ha ha!

So I understand we are at a disadvantage but why do not more Clydes get up there? Why are they avoiding the climbs?

Yes, a disadvantage but if you train, there is nothing that says you can't beat some of the skinnies. I can be competitive at times and I know others are as well. Heck, I can't count the times I have been on the trail when some big guy comes flying by me showing off. I think that is great that they show some strength on the flats but don't get me wrong, they ought to be out riding hills and mountains.

As I said, disadvantage but I have done timed events, 100 miles with 10,000 ft or more just to show that I would not be last place. Out of 400, I placed [HASHTAG]#123[/HASHTAG] which was great seeing I outweighed most riders by 60-70 pounds. So not like we will always be last.

Can't say Clydes aren't competitive because like I said, seen many happy to pass me on the trail and on the roads. Good attitude to have but do something different I say.

Last several rides up the local mtn roads, it seems most are tiny skinny lightweight riders. Good climbers but nobody says we can't be either.

I tell you, I used to participate in plenty of sports. But one day, a group of cyclists at work proud to be vegetarians with big mouths challenged me on the bicycle. I hadn't actually gotten serious on the bike yet as I was busy playing other sports.

So they told me that I was big and strong but that I more than likely lacked stamina. At the time I was on a traveling softball tournament team. I was pumping iron and also running 3 consecutive 7:10 miles (3 miles in 21:30) just to keep loose.