why do you use a heart-rate monitor

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by baffer, Oct 6, 2004.

1. baffer

baffer New Member

Hello everyone,

I am a student industrial design and am currently working on a project which involves the improvement of current heart-rate monitors.

One of the first things I noticed was that relatively a lot of people use these heart-rate monitors while cycling.
    However the interpretation of the data you receive of such a device is quite complicated (MLSShf etc) and is in fact only useful if precise training-schedules are devised with accurate target heart-rate zones in which you should train.

My question is the following: do you all devise training-schedules in combination with your heart-rate monitor, and if you use a model without the pc connectivity, how do you analyse your training??

thanks already

Tags:

2. beerco

beerco New Member

First issue with HR - because it's so variable, it is practiacally impossible to calculate an accurate target HR. In fact, it would have to be adjusted for fatigue level, temp, hydration status etc. before the workout session. To keep a constant workload during a session, target HR would have to be adjusted during the session.

Those of us in the know with the resources (i.e. $500 to blow on another gadget) have abandoned HR training in favor of training by power. All of my structured workouts (typically 2x20 intervals, 5x5, and 10x1) have target powers. Analysis is pretty simple - did I hit or exceed my targets.

3. baffer

baffer New Member

so target heart-rate zones are actually not useful in training sessions?

is there any literature that describes this issue?

4. cheapie

cheapie New Member

i use mine to record my workouts and to make sure i don't blow up. when my hr starts to creep up to 185 or so, i back down and either shift to a lower gear or slow down.

5. beerco

beerco New Member