Will changing to a higher head stem correct back pain ?

Aug 8, 2008
Will changing to a higher head stem relieve back soreness by allowing me to ride in a more upright position ? Is there any problem with this ?

Im only new to cycling and could do with a more upright position until I get my fitness up, weight down and core strength up. Otherwise im strongly considering going back to a flat bar as a training fitness bike. Then I can use the race bike on the weekends 1-2 a week until iv sorted things out.

105k said:
Will changing to a higher head stem relieve back soreness by allowing me to ride in a more upright position ? Is there any problem with this ?

Im only new to cycling and could do with a more upright position until I get my fitness up, weight down and core strength up. Otherwise im strongly considering going back to a flat bar as a training fitness bike. Then I can use the race bike on the weekends 1-2 a week until iv sorted things out.

You mean a stem with more rise, i.e. points up at a higher angle? It could help. Depends on your bike fit and the cause of your discomfort.

Yes, or it could make it worse. You have two choices ,you can experiment until you get everthing dialed in by trying different combinations on your bike or seek out someone who has bike fitting knowledge that can observe you actually on your bike.

105k said:

Big maybe. Back soreness can be from anything. Pedal/cleats thru stems, seat height. Sometimes raising the stem places MORE weight on your lower back, making it more sore, not less. Go see somebody that can do a good, stem to stern, anatomic bike fit on you.

105k said:

If I've been fiddling with my position, like trying a new saddle, and I start getting lower back pain, I move the saddle back to maintain saddle-to-crank reach. You may need to lower it to maintain saddle-to-crank stretch, too. So far this has worked for me every time. If the pain is in the neck or shoulders, though, I'd definitely consider stem height.