Will I be any faster?

mattjaydee

Apr 5, 2013
I started riding 3 months ago on a mountain bike with continental slicks on it. I time myself on some local routs and I am improving but some people recon I would be better on a road bike. Would I be any faster?

You would improve speed, but possibly not by much. 1, 2, maybe 3mph. And although you would see a slight improvement, you (i.e. your legs, heart, and lungs) would be exactly the same. Any increase in speed will be a result of the lower rolling resistance via tire selection, and aerodynamics from the newly available lower body position in the drops of the road bike handlebars. Lowering the head even an inch or two, which can also be arranged from repositioning on your MTB, can result in a couple mph gain. Curious, what continental tires do you now have an how wide are they?

+1, I am with the 'foz.

You can be faster on the road bike if you are willing/able to ride in a more aggressive position. Another possibility is that your gearing on the MTB is insufficient - do you find yourself in the highest gear wanting for more a lot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattjaydee .

I started riding 3 months ago on a mountain bike with continental slicks on it. I time myself on some local routs and I am improving but some people recon I would be better on a road bike.
Would I be any faster?

The aerodynamic advantage of Drop Bars can be very real ...

• several years ago, on a really long false flat, the difference in coasting speed between having my hands on the Hoods of the brake levers vs. on the Drops was a couple of MPH while coasting ... between 12+ mph & 14mph ... because it was at 6500 feet altitude, your results may be less ([COLOR= #ff0000]or, NOT!?![/COLOR]) ... because the test was done at ~7000 feet altitude, the results may be less at Sea Level