Will I regret getting a carbon frame?

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by Nevy, Feb 8, 2014.

1. Nevy

Nevy New Member

I've been cycling for about 2 years now on an aluminum cyclocrosser (Focus brand) that is about two frame sizes too big for me. I got it because when I first got into cycling I wasn't 100% sure where I would be riding and knew close to nothing about bikes. I also got a great deal on it buying it 2nd hand.

Before too long I stuck 23c road tires on it and never took them off; I really haven't had any problems riding the rail trails or the really bad gravel roads around here even on those tires. It was just a bit more bumpy and, at times, skittish in the loose stuff. I never felt like I needed knobs because I never rode in the mud and I have no plans of going on real mtb trails. just rail-trails/forest paths and the awful farm/service roads here in PA.

So, I've been saving up my money and have decided that now is the time to get a new bike; One that actually fits me proper, and has better gearing for what I'm into. I've more or less got it down to two choices: 2013 Giant Defy Composite 3 and 2014 Giant TCR SLR 2.

The Defy is basically exactly what I want. The moment that I saw it I knew it was the bike I wanted. However, I have some anxieties about going into a carbon frame after everything that I've seen/heard online... I still want to take those bumpy roads, and the mild dirt trails through the woods. I'm also just a tad bit clumsy at times and I don't want to trip over my bike and break it in half or something; Basically, I've saved my money for a new bike for some time now, and I want it to last me for at LEAST 4 years or so.