Winter Training - 1st Time Using HR Monitor

noonievut

Jul 5, 2004
I'm new to biking this year and during the summer I didn't use a HR monitor or other gadgets, just enjoyed riding.

Now that I'll be stuck on a stationary bike when the bad weather settles in, I thought it would be better to devise a program and maximize the indoor riding, while helping to cure the boredom.

I haven't quite set objectives yet, but generally my goals are to maintain my leg strength (or even improve it) and improve my endurance, so when spring rolls around, I can start to pedal further than I did this year.

So, I've read a bit about the HR zones, my bike has a HR monitor, cadence, etc., but I'm not sure how to structure a weekly program, what to record, and how to analyze the results. I really only want to ride 3 times a week, for 30 minutes, plus ride outdoors, weather permitting.

If I haven't provided enough info here for your suggestions, please point me towards a book or web site where I can get ideas about programs. I don't want a program told to me, but want to know generally how to set one to fit my schedule.

Thanks.

noonievut said:
I'm new to biking this year and during the summer I didn't use a HR monitor or other gadgets, just enjoyed riding.

Now that I'll be stuck on a stationary bike when the bad weather settles in, I thought it would be better to devise a program and maximize the indoor riding, while helping to cure the boredom.

I haven't quite set objectives yet, but generally my goals are to maintain my leg strength (or even improve it) and improve my endurance, so when spring rolls around, I can start to pedal further than I did this year.

So, I've read a bit about the HR zones, my bike has a HR monitor, cadence, etc., but I'm not sure how to structure a weekly program, what to record, and how to analyze the results. I really only want to ride 3 times a week, for 30 minutes, plus ride outdoors, weather permitting.