Women riding alone- is that THAT unusual??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've encountered many solo female riders over the last half dozen years on my daily rides. There
seems to be more single (solo riders) females on the road now than when I started riding in 1986.

I guess it's the cool thing to do here in the SoBay area (Palos Verdes,CA.)

Marlene Blanshay wrote:

> I go on a lot of rides alone, and today another woman cyclist I know (who is a great athlete and
> does triathlons and wins them- she is from another species really) commented on how cool it is
> that I ride alone, although she likes having another girl in the group. ANd a friend of mine who
> works in a bike shop says he sees women coming in all the time, women about my age (in their 30s,
> 40s and even older) who say they don't get to ride much because their husbands aren't around that
> much. WHen it's suggested they consider going alone, they say, "oh, I couldn't do THAT." And
> another woman I know of, married, never goes alone on rides and considers me to be really
> 'independent.'
>
> I see women riding alone, but is it really that unusual? I can't believe women in their adult
> years can't consider going on a ride alone. I go alone because I hardly know any women riders, and
> the ones I do know are great athletes who make me feel, well inadequate to say the least. I like
> going in groups but I'm not going to miss a nice day, that's for sure.
>
> Mind you, there is always the anxieties, like "What's that creak?" or "what's that noise", or
> having an accident and being alone, and I'm not exactly Miss Mechanic. But I go anyways and cross
> my fingers that nothing goes wrong. Is it like that everywhere, that women riding alone is
> considered be some sort of daring feat?

--

Tp

-------- __o ----- -\<. ------ __o --- ( ) / ( ) ---- -\<. ----------------- ( ) / ( )
---------------------------------------------

Freedom is not free; Free men are not equal; Equal men are not free.