womens bike

photo

Apr 26, 2004
Hello everyone,

I'm new to group cycling and have been riding a hybrid. I want to get more into the long distance group rides. I live in texas and rode in the MS-150 from Houston to Austin a couple of weeks ago on my Hybrid and relized I did alot more work than all the people on the true road bikes. I also relized my bike didn't fit me as well as I thought it did. I have been on the research every since please help if you can.

I have narrowed my new bike down to a bianchi donna eros wsd, (women specific design) or a cannondale r500 wsd, or maybe a giant ocr 1 not wsd. I'm really leaning toward the bianchi just because I like the way it feels but don't know much about the Campagnolo components. Everyone else has shimano including the bike I'm on now. If any of you have any info or ride one of these bikes I would appreciate any help.

I'm a pretty small 5'2" and my handlebars on my hybrid are to far away is why I started looking at wsd.

Please help me I want to buy a bike that will last a long time.

Photo

A friend of mine rides the bianchi eros and loves it. Another woman I ride with also has the bianchi eros and loves the bike-she has upgraded components as they wear out she loves the ride so much.

Re: campy v. shimano: both have their lower end and higher end stuff. With campy-I believe it is (from lowest to high end) xenon, mirage, veloce, centure(sp?), chorus and record. From centur on up you are looking at "race ready". Veloce is good stuff too, my friends bianchi donna eros has that groupo, I believe. I have heard good things from various riders about veloce/mirage mix.

Shimano: sora, tiagra, 105, ultegra, dura ace. 105 and above is "race ready." I have heard negative things about sora and tiagra from various riders.

"Race ready" just means that they can withstand a lot of riding. Part of the reason you see more shimano on road bikes is because it tends to be cheaper in price compared to campognolo.