would you recommend this cannondale R900?

My wife rides an R900Si with Ultergra.She is a pretty good rider and very dedicated. It is a great bike. Its is a 2002 if I remember correctly. I don't know about the Shimano 600 I have never used it but the Ultegra is very smooth.The Cannondale frame is comfortable, responsive and stable.
The age of the bike would be my biggest concern. Of course if you go newer the costs go up. It really depends on your needs and budget.
If you are not a hard core racer and just want to ride for fun and or exercise I would say this would be a very adequate bike. I don't know what you are riding now but if it an old inexpensive heavy bike then this would be a good step up for you.

Originally posted by biltonhouse
I just had my beaten up old road bike stolen, and I'm looking to replace it with something a bit classier and faster, but I have no experience. I know I need 56cm, but that's about it. Here's a bike that caught my eye on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3637096201&category=7298#ebayphotohosting

Is there anything there that would worry you?
I'd be grateful for any advice.
Thanks.
The starting bid is more than it's worth. It's 8 speed.New stuff is 9 and 10. The shifters are no longer available other than places like ebay,so if one craps out,you get to upgrade to 9 speed if you can't find a replacement. Buying online is a way to get reamed if you have no experience. All 56s are not the same either as different makes measure differently.

Originally posted by jhuskey
My wife rides an R900Si with Ultergra.She is a pretty good rider and very dedicated. It is a great bike. Its is a 2002 if I remember correctly. I don't know about the Shimano 600 I have never used it but the Ultegra is very smooth.The Cannondale frame is comfortable, responsive and stable.