WSD Bikes

LisaG

Jun 30, 2005
Hi - I am looking at the WSD bikes for a very specific reason. I am torn between that and a hybrid so I am hoping someone may have advice.

I am new to riding and what I found while riding my son's old moutain bike was 2 things - terrible pain in my knees (fixed that somewhat with a seat and an adjustment) and a recurring (first) urinary then kidney infection. This only happens when I ride a bike. So.... I am convinced (or hoping) the WSD will alleviate the problem with a correct seat postion. Can you recommend either bike specifically??

LisaG said:
Hi - I am looking at the WSD bikes for a very specific reason. I am torn between that and a hybrid so I am hoping someone may have advice.

I am new to riding and what I found while riding my son's old moutain bike was 2 things - terrible pain in my knees (fixed that somewhat with a seat and an adjustment) and a recurring (first) urinary then kidney infection. This only happens when I ride a bike. So.... I am convinced (or hoping) the WSD will alleviate the problem with a correct seat postion. Can you recommend either bike specifically??
I'm not sure a WSD bike will fix either of your problems any better than any bike that fits you well. WSD bikes are made speficially to alleviate some of the problems that women have with bike fit. We tend to have shorter torsos and arms, smaller hands so WSD bikes have shorter top tubes, more narrow handelbars, short reach levers etc. The problems fixed are usually more back/shoulder/neck related. If you are small or have a shorter torso these things can help incredibly, but many women fit fine on bikes that are not designed specifically for one sex or the other.

That said I do own a WSD designed bike and I have found it to be 10x better than my old one, but I am small 5'0" and have short arms.

Knee pain can have a variety of causes but the most common are:
having the saddle to high or too low, so again a bike that fits well will help