Yet another newbie - Mercier Galaxy?

jaysamson

Jun 28, 2006
I'm very new to road cycling. I was given a Miele bicycle a few months ago (it had everything but a missing crank set/pedals), brought it at a small local shop who ultimately decided he did notwant to/could not fix it due to the 68 or 70mm bottom bracket/Italian that is hard to find. He suggested I go to the big bike shop downtown.

Called the downtown shop, guy knew exactly what I was talking about and said it could be fixed for anywhere in the $100 to $200 dollar range.

I then went to Cycle Spectrum, manager suggested I should not bother fixing the old Miele bike, he suggested I instead purchase their $400 "special"
Mercier Galaxy. He stated this was a great beginner bike w/ Shimano parts and they also offer lifetime free service.

After a bit of googling tonight, I really could not find much info on this particular bike.

I have only been riding for only several weeks consistently (using my brother's old crappy road bike) and absolutely fell in love with it. I could definitely see myself as a serious rider in the future, Ive been told by many many riders that $700 is the minimum one needs to spend for a "good" road bike, but now I'm confused.

$400 for the Mercier Galaxy is relatively cheap for me and it will be properly fitted ( the Miele is way too tall). But then again I dont even know much about the brand. I know its made in Taiwan, I read somewhere that it might be Cycle Spectrum's own generic brand. Anyone else have suggestions in the 300 to 500 dollar range??? The salesman from the bike shop also suggested Motobecane $400 bikes which he said was nearly identical to the Mercier. :confused:

thanks in advance

There is an Ebay seller, SPRTYMAMA BIKE SHOP, who seems to have cornered online Mercier distribution. Just go to the bicycle listings, click "Mercier," and you'll find her. Also, check the Mercier web site http://www.cyclesmercier.com.