Young Old-Lady Newbie Looking for Help in Choosing What Bike to Use on First Bike Tour -- My First

SierraSlim

Oct 4, 2010
[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 11px]Hey, Y'all! I'm so glad I found you![/COLOR][/SIZE]

[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 11px]I'm a 59-year-old overweight female (don't hang up on me just yet, please, lol) who just rediscovered the love of biking this past summer, after having not ridden one since I was 12! Since I started riding on August 11, I have gone from having my most strenuous exercise be lifting the lever of my recliner and walking to the fridge, to riding 7 miles a day at 10-12 mph. I know that's laughably few miles for y'all and laughably slow, but for this ex-totally-sedentary, ex-recliner-snoozing gal, it's extraordinary, so no snickers, please. (At least not where I can see them.) /img/vbsmilies/smilies/tongue.gif [/COLOR][/SIZE]

[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 11px]I do have a bike, a 3-year-old Electra Hawaii 3-speed beach cruiser in candy apple red. I named her Freedom because I feel like that's what she has offered me. (Is that too lame for these forums? If so, I'm sorry I'm such a dork.) I love riding her on the bike paths here, and I go riding 5-6 days a week, trying to add about a mile a week to my distance. I don't at this point ride in traffic, other than getting off to cross streets on the bike path. Aside from the apparently typical sore-bottom issue and the helmet hair, I am LOVING cycling!! In the process, I've lost 30 pounds so far, and want to both continue riding and improve my endurance so I can go further (farther???), continue losing weight, and get healthier as I get older, instead of just decaying. In short, I would rather wear out than rust out. [/COLOR][/SIZE]