Your Favorite Ftp Building Workout

MarkM13

Dec 18, 2009
Greetings,

I'm coming back to training after missing the entire first half of the season due to surgery on my left quad (not velo related). I've logged some base miles and actually made it a point not to use my power meter so I 1. wouldn't push too hard to keep watts where they were in my best competitive season 2. get discouraged they were so low.

I tested recently and came in at 218w. I know to be competitive during CX season (Masters 45+) I need to be in the upper 260s. While raising 50w is a tall order I do want to raise it as much as possible by the end of September. So, let's hear it what is your favorite workout for raising your FTP?

Thanks,
Mark

My favorite workout would probably be just normal cycling. I don't know what it is, but I don't like the experienced workouts too much, but that might just be because I'm a novice. What are you currently doing?

In CX it wouldn't be my FTP I'd be worried about - it'd be my L5/L6 and those pesky little hills....

But for raising FTP it all depends on how you respond to different types of training. Some guys progress faster on 20 minute intervals at approximately their FTP, others, like myself, do better with a ton of L3 with some L4 and 5 on short hills or a fun flat section of road.

MarkM13 said:
Greetings,

I'm coming back to training after missing the entire first half of the season due to surgery on my left quad (not velo related). I've logged some base miles and actually made it a point not to use my power meter so I 1. wouldn't push too hard to keep watts where they were in my best competitive season 2. get discouraged they were so low.

I tested recently and came in at 218w. I know to be competitive during CX season (Masters 45+) I need to be in the upper 260s. While raising 50w is a tall order I do want to raise it as much as possible by the end of September. So, let's hear it what is your favorite workout for raising your FTP?

Thanks,
Mark