Can you effectively train for cycling only riding once a week? (But running other times)

J-Boogie

Mar 14, 2013
Hi everyone! I am a complete newb when it comes to the concept of structured training, so please bear with me. I participate in a challenging weekly 30 mile group ride, but unfortunately, it is the only bicycle ride I can't commit to during the week.however, I do on a treadmill and a heart rate monitor. For the last 3 months, I have been running an hour at the time at around 80 percent of my maximum heart rate. I have seen a marked improvement in my running and cycling during this time, but I wonder if my efforts could be put to a more efficient use.this past Saturday, I was able to run 10 miles on the roadin 1 hour and 29 minutes. Before January, I had never run more than 1 mile consecutively.my weekly group ride has increases average speed from 18 miles an hour to roughly 21 miles an hour over the 30 mile stretch during the last 3 months. It seems that others in this group art at the same level as me, trying to improve. Any advice you guys could offer to help me get better faster will be greatly appreciated, and whatever advice you give me I promise to follow exactly. I will keep you guys posted as to my results.

No

Get on a bike, even a gym exercise bike at least 3 if not more days a week if you want to ride effectively.