Why People Don't Buy Recumbents

Ergoman

Feb 21, 2007
I'm a pretty intense cyclist, a Cat 2 racer who has also done some serious touring. Unfortunately, I'm also getting to the age where my body has stopped ignoring abuse. I want to go farther, faster and be comfortable doing it, and after a little research I decided to give recumbents a try. I studied the reviews, read up on the subject all I could and picked a few models that might interest me, the Challenge Fujin, the Optima Baron, the VK2, etc. (yes, I want to go fast and I don't mind working at it)

Now, here's why people don't buy recumbents. A two-hour (one way) drive to a shop that assured me they had all the models revealed that they had nothing but used, rusty and broken lawn chairs with wheels. Of course they'd be happy to order what I wanted, and if I wanted to wait around for a few hours while their mechanic made their rusty, flat-tired, old Baron rideable, I could go for a test ride in the parking lot. I had called ahead to let them know what I wanted to see so it wasn't like my visit was a surprise.

Frustrated, I got on the phone to every major recumbent dealer in the U.S. The story was the same everywhere. No models of interest in stock, but if you want to order, we can have it for you in a month or two.

Here's the crunch: Before I lay $2000 to $3000 out for an unknown bike, particularly a recumbent with which I have NO experience, I want to ride it. I really need to check it out and see if I'm going to love it or hate it. If no one has the models I'm interested in, how can I do a test ride. If I can't do a test ride, how can any dealer in his right mind expect me to buy? It's a chicken and egg type thing. People don't buy recumbents because the models they want aren't available, and the models they want aren't available because people don't buy them. Wake up dealers! You might be on to something good, but unless you make it possible for sane people to buy, you're going nowhere.

END OF RANT