Am I crazy to consider a duathlon?

• Thread starter Preston Crawfor
  • Start date

P

Preston Crawfor

I'm new to all this. My wife, who just completed her first sprint tri has me interested in pushing
myself a little more physically (I'm used to biking 15-20 miles a day and 25-30 miles on the
weekends). There's a duathlon coming up soon (middle of October) in my area. 5ks on either end of
the bike. Having never really ran much I'm wondering how hard a duathlon like this would be. I'm
doing a 5k this weekend, so hopefully I'll get an idea of how hard it is, but having no experience
with distances like this off a bike I can't really picture if someone of my fitness level could do
something like this.

Preston

Preston Crawford wrote:

> I'm new to all this. My wife, who just completed her first sprint tri has me interested in pushing
> myself a little more physically (I'm used to biking 15-20 miles a day and 25-30 miles on the
> weekends). There's a duathlon coming up soon (middle of October) in my area. 5ks on either end of
> the bike. Having never really ran much I'm wondering how hard a duathlon like this would be. I'm
> doing a 5k this weekend, so hopefully I'll get an idea of how hard it is, but having no experience
> with distances like this off a bike I can't really picture if someone of my fitness level could do
> something like this.
>
> Preston

What have you got to lose other than the entry fee? The worst that will happen

is you will DNF. My guess is the sun will still come up the next day. Take it easy

on the first 5K, keep the bike down to training level speed, and tough out the last

5K even if you have to walk most of it. Most likely the next day you'll be saying,

"damn that was hard, but I bet I could do a lot better if I trained a little more."

JJ

"JJ Waguespack" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...

> What have you got to lose other than the entry fee? The worst that will
happen
>