Wheel sizes

Alex3se

Oct 28, 2006
good day! I am very new to the riding community. I am looking at buying my first roadbike soon and I would like to get your recommendations about frame and wheel sizes. I stand 5"8" tall but weigh 195 lbs obviously on the heavy side thats the reason I want biking so as to get my **** off and get busy instead of surfing the net as what I am doing now ha ha ha

in inches how big is the 650cc tires?

will it suit me for my needs and weight?

what do you guys recommend as a good roadbike to use for my purpose of training and fitness?

are litespeed bikes ok?

Thanks!

As you are a beginner…. Any half decent road bike will be fine.. What name it has stuck on the frame doesn’t make any difference.

Forget 650c wheels, they are an odd size and only for very small frames and a few people with strange ideas. They will severely limit your choice of tyres apart from other things.

You need 700c wheels. This is what 99.9 % of road bikes have. I can guess why you want to know inches but inches have nothing to do with it. The size is 700c. and 23mm or 25mm tyres will be best. 23mm is most common but 25mm will give you an advantage at your weight.

At 5’8” you’ll need a 53cm or 54cm frame. Not bigger than that.

Good Luck Jay.

otherworld said:
As you are a beginner…. Any half decent road bike will be fine.. What name it has stuck on the frame doesn’t make any difference.

Forget 650c wheels, they are an odd size and only for very small frames and a few people with strange ideas. They will severely limit your choice of tyres apart from other things.

You need 700c wheels. This is what 99.9 % of road bikes have. I can guess why you want to know inches but inches have nothing to do with it. The size is 700c. and 23mm or 25mm tyres will be best. 23mm is most common but 25mm will give you an advantage at your weight.

At 5’8” you’ll need a 53cm or 54cm frame. Not bigger than that.

Good Luck Jay.

thanks jay really appreciate your reply.