Aluminum best for Crit. Racing

I like aluminum for crits, stiff, and cheap. I've been racing for two full seasons now, and only crashed once while racing. Nothing happened to the frame, and it wasn't a major crash. But Crits are fast, and tight and people go down. I find most people don't race on a top of the line bike if they do crits, something made of aluminum and a 105/ultegra (or campy equivalent) mix gets the job done and is replaceable if it gets banged up. Save the carbon or expensive ti bike for training.

Jcyclist said:
Is aluminum better for racing crits
probably better since the replacement cost in the event of a crash is less. I've been racing crits for the past 4 years in Colorado and I see alot of aluminum or aluminum/carbon stay frames. of course many choose carbon or their team has a frame sponsor that provides carbon frames.

Very efficient power transfer. Can't wait to race my newly built CADD8 next season.

gregkeller said:
I like aluminum for crits, stiff, and cheap. I've been racing for two full seasons now, and only crashed once while racing. Nothing happened to the frame, and it wasn't a major crash. But Crits are fast, and tight and people go down. I find most people don't race on a top of the line bike if they do crits, something made of aluminum and a 105/ultegra (or campy equivalent) mix gets the job done and is replaceable if it gets banged up. Save the carbon or expensive ti bike for training.
That ends up quite ironic. You have your expensive race bike which you train on, and your cheaper training bike which you race on.;)

bobbyOCR said:
That ends up quite ironic. You have your expensive race bike which you train on, and your cheaper training bike which you race on.;)

good one!! :D