How to choose the right wheelset for my riding style?

"Ah, the art of tire pressure, a dance as old as time itself! But what about the delicate balance between tire width and pressure? Ever pondered how the wrong combination can lead to premature tire wear or even decreased traction? It's a slippery slope, my friend. So, tell me, have you found your rhythm in this dance of numbers and millimeters?"

Ah, more opinions on wheelsets. Just what we need. Let's not forget about the importance of wheel flexion and torsional stiffness, often overlooked in the weight, aerodynamics, and durability debate. Perhaps you should also factor in your carbon footprint and choose a sustainable bamboo wheelset. But what do I know, I'm just a helicopter pilot from Tennessee. ;)

Well, first off, let's dispel the myth that lighter wheels are always better for climbing. While it's true that they can make climbing a bit easier, the difference is often negligible, and the added cost is rarely worth it.

As for your specific needs, it sounds like you're doing a lot of long, flat rides with some time trialing experience. In that case, I'd recommend looking for a wheelset that strikes a good balance between aerodynamics and durability. After all, there's no point in having lightweight, aerodynamic wheels if they're going to crack on you after a few hard rides.

When it comes to durability, you'll want to look for wheels that are built with high-quality materials and components. Check the rim depth, spoke count, and hub construction to ensure that they can stand up to the rigors of long rides and racing.

And let's not forget about weight, either. While it's not the be-all and end-all of wheel selection, it's still an important factor to consider. Look for wheels that are light enough to be fast, but not so light that they sacrifice durability.