Look PP396 Road Pedals versus Road Look A3.1 Pedals

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dario Wolfish

Now that I have my new Trek 5200, I need to buy road pedals. I saw at an online store that the Look
PP396 pedals are on sale for 100 dollars. The site claims that the retail price of these pedals is
200 dollars.

The Look A3.1 road pedals are also 100 dollars.

What exactly is the difference between these pedals? Which of these pedals do you recommend?

I have large feet (13 5E) and would like a simple and quick release.

I am new to this cycling madness and would like your advice Please email me or post your
opinion here.

As always, thanks so much for your help.

Sincerely,

Dario

<< Now that I have my new Trek 5200, I need to buy road pedals. I saw at an online store that the
Look PP396 pedals are on sale for 100 dollars. The site claims that the retail price of these pedals
is 200 dollars. The Look A3.1 road pedals are also 100 dollars. What exactly is the difference
between these pedals? Which of these pedals do you recommend? >>

The best LOOK pedals are the old Shimano PD-7401 (Dura Ace). They are all metal, and have a superior
axle/bearing design. Long discontinued, but available occasionally on eBay, both NOS and used. The
main difference between the various LOOK brand models, other than cosmetics, is the release tension
and the gimmicks. The rotation adjustment dial on the back of the PP396 doesn't do much-that's a
gimmick. Avoid it, and there's one less thing to break. Cconsider the release tension when choosing
models. The lower end pedals have release tension settings from 8-12, and the "pro" pedals go from
11 to 16. A powerful rider might need the higher settings in a sprint, while a novice might find it
safer and easier to clip in and out at the low settings. You can find all this info on the Total
Cycling site, which sells the PP396 for $65 and the
A3.1 for $62 (plus shipping from the UK).

http://www.totalcycling.com/

Dario Wolfish wrote: