Need some advice on bike buying

tyvirk

Feb 1, 2013
Hi,

First off I am new to the forum but I intend to read it daily. I am new to the sport but I want to learn as much as I can because I have always been interested in cycling but have been busy with other sports such as soccer and basketball. Now that I am in college and am more focused on school I am going to need something to do over the warmer months when I am home.

Last summer I purchased a used bike through craigslist. It is an older bike that only cost me $80 but I wanted to ride a little to make sure it was something I wanted to pursue before purchasing a entry level newer bike for $1000. The bike I currently have is a Raleigh Marathon and I believe it is a little to big for me but for $80 I couldn't go wrong.

So what I need is some advice on which way to go new bike wise. I am mainly going to be riding to keep an elite level of fitness. I want to enter a few local events this summer which is why I decided I should purchase a bike the better fits me.

My budget is roughly $1000 but would be willing to go a little higher if it is going to greatly benefit the quality of my cycle. I know you get what you pay for but I'm a college student and not trying to break the bank. Also I have no problem buying a lightly used bike or a leftover bike which I am assuming is the best route for someone like me with a relatively low budget.

I plan on going to some local shops in Syracuse, NY when I get home to try out some bikes. What I am leaning towards right now is a felt cycle. What do you guys think of this brand? From what I have read they are a good bike but I want some real knowledge.

The model I was leaning toward was the "f85" because it is in my price range. Maybe I could get a step up if it was a leftover from the year before. Is there a bike significantly better than this for the price? I also like the looks of felt bikes I don't know why