Tall frame bikes?

TR1

Dec 22, 2007
Hello- Im a newbie just getting back into cycling. I have a custom built steel road bike that is about 12 years out of date and I would like to move up to something current. I had my last road bike built for me because I'm 6'6'' and could not find anything that fit right. (Too small) My old bike size is about a 70. My question is:

What companies should I be looking at for a larger frame bike? Back in the day (1990's) I remember Cannondale had some larger bikes... any thoughts would help.

Thanks,

TR

TR1 said:
Hello- Im a newbie just getting back into cycling. I have a custom built steel road bike that is about 12 years out of date and I would like to move up to something current. I had my last road bike built for me because I'm 6'6'' and could not find anything that fit right. (Too small) My old bike size is about a 70. My question is:

What companies should I be looking at for a larger frame bike? Back in the day (1990's) I remember Cannondale had some larger bikes... any thoughts would help.

Thanks,

TR
Go to your LBS and get measured for a bike. At your height, any frame will have to be special ordered, but nearly all of the major manufacturers will be able to supply a frame that will fit you.

Actually, Lennard Zinn has carved out a nitch building custom frames for tall riders. His bikes aren't just scaled up smaller bikes. The head tube, for example, is extended because if you raise up the top tube on a large frame size bike you lose the triangulation of the main frame.

Before going custom check out the 2008 TREK range. Yes that's right TREK.

They have added thier "performance" geometry range, and added an extra size. The largest frame has a 61cm top tube and 25cm tall head tube with less than 72.5deg seat angle. This is the biggest stock size frame I know of.

A long stem, spacers, and long seat post and you might get to a decent fitting bike without having to spend as much as going custom.