I have been shopping online and on E-Bay for a new bike. Two sellers with great deals on "2nd tier" products like Motobecane and Mercier are Bikesdirect.com and SPRTYMAMA, who sells mass numbers of bikes on Ebay. I have been doing some research on these businesses. It appears that Sptrymama is a woman named Courtney Spratt from Ponte Vedra, FL. I believe she has the license or owns the brand name for Motobecane and perhaps other brands. I also think she may run the very slimmed down Motobecane website. She and bikesdirect.com seem to be the only two businesses selling Motobecane on the internet. However, I have found Motobecane products at one LBS in Seattle, and they confirmed that the source is the same as on the internet sales.
My research reveals that Courtney Spratt and her husband Michael, appear to have been in the bike business for a number of years. They have strong connections with Bikesdirect.com owner David Sander, who also owns the Cycle Spectrum stores in Florida, Texas and one or two other states. see
This is a link to the Florida Corportations Department which shows that a company called CS Bikes has Michael and Courtney Spratt as officers, as well as David Sandler. In other words, its possible bikesdirect.com = SPRTYMAMA = Cycle Spectrum.
What does this all mean? I am not sure. On the one hand, it seems that brands like Motobecane and Chinese made bikes are held by this one small company with very limited distribution and marketing and you need to be careful about warranty issues and quality. On the other hand, SPRTYMAMA has excellent feedback on Ebay and clearly has connections with Cycle Spectrum, which has about 30 +REAL bike shops. Also, the fact that, at least in my area, you can actually buy Motobecanes in an LBS is a good sign.
Hope this helps people out ther in the same position I have been in. Chime in.