2 important bike buying questions: Is a bike fitting worth $300 and what about carbon vs aluminum

YFreund

Jan 26, 2012
I am in the process of researching the purchase of my first road bike. I've been riding a clunky hybrid for the past 15 years. I almost got burnt taking my own measurements and thinking I need a 57cm bike when I really need a 54 due to long legs but short torso and arms. But I am debating if it is worth it to spend $250-300 on a professional bike fitting. The LBS I went to said I can do very well with almost any 54cm since I am buying the bike for recreational riding. What do people think?

Now the other question: Is it worth the extra $ for carbon vs aluminum for recreational riding? How much is the weight difference going to make on my 20 mi and occassional 40 mile rides? I can probably get a better deal on used aluminum bike than I can on a carbon.

Thanks much,
Jeff

I think you are being over charged for the fit session. If you do pay it should be around $150.00. Why are you going used? To save money? If you buy new the fit session should come with the purchase.

Also, if your not going to race, consider a relaxed geometry bike. Also known as a Plush Road bike. This bike will be easier on your back.

$250 - $300 is more than a little too high for a fitting. Shop around for a fitting and you should be able to find a good one in the $90 - $120 range.

The weight of the bike probably won't make much difference on your 20 mile rides. The big difference for you will be the ride. Most aluminum bikes give a harsher ride than most CF bikes do. Instead of making your mind up from opinions on this forum, test ride the bikes and let your comfort be your guide.

To be honest with you I would'nt drop a dime for a fitting. A recreational cyclist should be able to walk into any bike shop and be fitted properly. A good bike shop should be able to put you on a trainer and make the proper adjustments.