7-speed Drivetrain upgrade

billy1974

Jun 14, 2004
I just started riding again after several years off of the bike. Now that I'm getting into it on a regular basis (no racing; just training rides, about 100-150 mi. per week), I'm considering upgrading my drivetrain.

My bike is an old (circa 1990?) Cannondale 3.0 Criterium frame w/ Shimano 105 components throughout. Shifters are on the downtubes; 7-speed Ultraglide cog in the rear; 52/42 rings up front. I assume the frame is 126mm spacing in the rear.

I do like the frame. I'm accustomed to it and it suits me (I'm about 6'2", currently 235 lbs). I am very interested, however, in moving to an STI-based shifting system. I've gotten mixed feedback from bike shops and my own research on how to proceed. One shop said a group upgrade is possible, but would take a lot of work. Another said I'd be better off just buying a new bike (since I'd probably need new wheels, derailleurs, cogset, cables, shifters, etc., and have the frame widened).

So, here are my main questions:

- Did Shimano ever make a 7-speed group in STI format?
- Are the Sora 7-speed shifters/brake levers worth considering? (I did find these new for sale, at a cost of $130, incl. cables)
- If I need to go to 8-speed, can I put an 8-speed cog on my existing (Ultraglide) hub without widening the frame?
- Can an aluminum frame be widened at all?
- Is it just time to bite-the-bullet and get a new bike?

(My guess is that a new one would run me $800-$1,000, to stay at the Shimano 105 level of components. New components, wheels, etc. on my current Cannondale will probably run me in the neighborhood of $600-$700.)

Thanks for anyone's input here.

Originally posted by billy1974
I just started riding again after several years off of the bike. Now that I'm getting into it on a regular basis (no racing; just training rides, about 100-150 mi. per week), I'm considering upgrading my drivetrain.