Advice for someone completely new to cycling +

Dyella73

Jun 12, 2013
Hi everyone. I am currently looking to purchase a road bike. I am completely new to this so in all honesty I don't really have a clue about what I am doing. My budget is $700-$1000. Ideally I want to start cycling as a new hobby to supplement my running (loveee running) and possibly work up to a duathlon in the future. I have gone to a couple local bike shops and I have tested a Trek Lexa, Giant Defy (liked both of those) and also a cannondale that I really didn't love. One of the stores also recommended a Ridley Yana but I didn't try that one. Just for reference, I'm a 5'1 female. Couple questions and concerns for you all. 1. Out of the bikes I mentioned, do you have any you'd recommend or steer away from? Any additional suggestions that I haven't looked at? I don't need women's specific if that helps. 2. I'm still confused as to what size bike I need. Some stores told me 48, another 46. I feel like what I've tried are too big for me, but I don't really know for sure. 3. Along with 2 above, I'm also finding that I feel very awkward and wobbly when testing out the road bikes. I'm getting nervous - is this normal? Like I said I'm completely new so I've never tested a road bike before the last couple weeks. Even my boyfriend pointed out that I just didn't look right. I can't tell if its just me and my un coordinated self, or if there is a "learning period" for people new to road biking. I'm determined! Lol I would appreciate whatever advice you can offer me. Thanks for reading this long post :)

Choosing a bike is pretty personal but I can say with confidence it's very hard to go wrong in that price range. All the brands you mentioned make fine bikes.

Does the feeling "too big" part equate to feeling too stretched out, i.e. that you are too far forward?