Been at it a week...

illingworthless

May 22, 2011
Hi everyone, first post here, sorry it is a little bit long

I am a professional squash player, and after a 5-6 week break at the end of the squash season, I started my summer base training 7 days ago. By "break" I mean I went for distance runs 1-2 times a week and lifted 1-2 times a week during that time period...As much of a break as I could force on myself. Also got married and vacationed etc. Lots of drinking and probably the longest break I have had from squash in 6 or 7 years.

Day one of summer training I did a bike workout, on a Keiser spin bike at the gym, and I got really into it. In the past week I have done a lot of reading online and I love the fact that it can be broken down so scientifically and you can track your effort so easily.

Biking is great for me as it is obviously non-impact, I also do a lot of running, lifting, and on court work, so non-impact work is great. Last season I did a lot of swimming (which I am terrible at) and do water-running etc quite often. I think I like biking a lot more to be honest. I have done bike workouts in the past but usually more as serious interval training (30 on 30) type stuff.

SO....day one I did 2x20 min at around 250 watts, wasn't paying too much attention but for some reason I was monitoring it a little bit. Went home and started reading about watts and all the other cycling mumbo-jumbo FTP blah blah blah. It's awesome!

Day 3 of summer training I was back on the bike with a little more of a purpose, but also about a million ideas running through my head about how to use the bike to train so was bit haphazard and all over the place. Put in 2 good 15 minute sets at 300W, one steady and one where I was mixing up the RPM a 4 min 95ish 2 min 80ish.