Bending aluminum

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pete Harris

I'm using a pair of aluminum alloy MTB flat bars as aero bars on my TT bike. They work pretty well,
but I'd like to give them a gentle upward bend toward the end.

Should I heat them, and how much, or cold bend them? Are they more likely to fail after being bent?
One thing that has to be to my advantage is that there is isn't much load on the portion in front of
the elbow pads.

I'm hoping some of you guys who know so much about materials might be able to help me out.

- Pete

Howdy Pete,

As a mechanical engineer I can tell you that bending Al is a bad idea. Your best bet will be to
find a pair of Al bars with the curve you want rather than risk almost certain failure by bending
them yourself.

While Al is a great material for some things it doesn't take kindly to any kind of bending. If I
remember correctly (materials classes were a while ago) both steel and Al fail at the same %
elongation [i.e. how much the material has been stretched or bent] except that steel won't fracture
for quite awhile after failure whereas Al fractures at or slightly past failure.

This means for your purposes that if you succeed in bending your bars the material has failed and
therefore the odds of it fracturing are very high. I don't know about you but I enjoy eating foods
that require chewing.

Jon

"Pete Harris" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I'm using a pair of aluminum alloy MTB flat bars as aero bars on my TT bike. They work pretty
> well, but I'd like to give them a gentle upward bend toward the end.
>
> Should I heat them, and how much, or cold bend them? Are they more likely to fail after being
> bent? One thing that has to be to my advantage is that there is isn't much load on the portion in
> front of the elbow pads.
>
> I'm hoping some of you guys who know so much about materials might be able to help me out.
>
> - Pete