Bruised Tailbone

v3lvetpresley

Apr 14, 2004
Hi all. Newbie here. Not sure if anyone can help, but here we go.... I got myself a Mountain Bike at the weekend, primarily for biking to work and back, but also for a bit of offroad when the mood takes me. It's the first time I've ridden a bike for about 6 years. I first used it properly yesterday, to get to work. The way there was fine, slight discomfort around my backside, but nothing i wouldn't put down to 'getting used to it again'. On the way home, I decided to take the canal, as it was flatter. It was very gravelly and bumpy though, and by the time I got home, my tailbone was in agony. I tried to cycle to the shop after I got home, but I ended up wheeling my bike home as I just couldn't sit on the saddle. Then, when I got on my bike this morning to get to work, It hurt *really* bad. I ended up wheeling it back home and getting a lift off my wife. Does this sound like a simple bruising, or something worse? If so, what are the healing times? It aches when I sit down on anything, and there is discomfort when I walk.

The distance to work is only 7 or 8 Miles, and I don't remember issuing a large bump to my backside... can this happen from travelling along gravel?

As a side note, can anyone recommend something so I can maybe resume cycling? Maybe some padded shorts, or something. Bear in mind I'm on a limited budget, so home made items would be good.

Cheers Chaps/Chapesses.

Originally posted by v3lvetpresley