By How Much Should I Be Looking To Increase My Distance By....?

Sarah79

Aug 31, 2009
Hi,

(Hope the long title is excused!)

I'm new to cycling - I'm 30, rediscovered my bike rotting away in the shed and have since been pounding the country lanes near to my house - I'm in Shropshire - and began by doing a quick, circuitious route of about 8 miles. 2 weeks later and I'm up to 17. Is that too much too soon? My body doesn't feel it is, at least not at the moment and before I took up cycling, I was a rock-climbing so physically, I'm probably quite tough. I'm just wondering what the average progression is and what is perhaps recommended by those more conversant with these topics than me...

Cheers

S

Well you'll see a lot of advice to only increase mileage by 'x' percent per week or month, but that assumes a lot in terms of base fitness and everybody's different. A doubling of mileage sounds like a lot, and would be if you were doing forty of fifty mile rides but probably not a big deal going from 8 to 17 for someone who was previously active.

Basically listen to your body and ride as much as you enjoy but try to end most rides pleasantly tired, not totally knackered. If you're trashed for the rest of the day or have lingering soreness, lose sleep or don't even want to look at the bike the next day you've probably overdone things a bit. But don't hesitate to stretch your rides a bit or ride a bit quicker when it's fun, just remember to fuel and hydrate well and it's best to have at least a day or two each week where you don't get on the bike or at the most take a very easy and short spin to keep your muscles loose.

Definitely pay attention to fueling yourself both on and off the bike and especially in the first half hour after returning from rides. Getting some simple carbs along with a bit of protein on board in that critical half hour after finishing a ride can make all the difference in terms of fueling up for tomorrow's activities.