Clyde rider for new road bike

carsnoceans

Jul 24, 2010
I am looking to get my first road bike... been doing a indoor group spinning 3x per week and weekend ride of 20-25mi on my steel frame trek hybrid. I think moving to a road bike might be a nice mix and given the end of year, older models are discounted.

So far, I have checked out - Fuji roubaix (at performance bike outlet), Cannondale CAAD9/CAAD10, Specialized Allez, Cervelo at LBS. Needless to say Cervelo is more than what I am looking for right now... I would ideally like to keep it under $1000 but some cyclist friends say it won't be possible to go in that range without compromising on frame and component quality. LBS sales guy spoke highly of CAAD10 model but it seems RS10 rims don't have a good reputation on the internet reviews.

I am planning to go for few test rides during next week... what should I be looking at during the ride (besides comfort)? Anything in specific? I have no experience on road bikes! Any comments on the Cannondale CAAD and Specialized Allez would be much appreciated as well.

Many thanks for the help.

Originally Posted by carsnoceans .

I am looking to get my first road bike... been doing a indoor group spinning 3x per week and weekend ride of 20-25mi on my steel frame trek hybrid. I think moving to a road bike might be a nice mix and given the end of year, older models are discounted.

So far, I have checked out - Fuji roubaix (at performance bike outlet), Cannondale CAAD9/CAAD10, Specialized Allez, Cervelo at LBS. Needless to say Cervelo is more than what I am looking for right now... I would ideally like to keep it under $1000 but some cyclist friends say it won't be possible to go in that range without compromising on frame and component quality. LBS sales guy spoke highly of CAAD10 model but it seems RS10 rims don't have a good reputation on the internet reviews.