Could I Be A Pro

mfunston

Aug 12, 2013
Hey Guys. How are you doing? This is my first time on this forum and first time posting. I have a couple of questions for you guys and hopefully I can get a honest answer from it.

So let me tell you a little bit about myself. My name is Michael Funston and I am 21 years old. I have been a casual bike rider all my life. I always wanted to ride in races and become a professional cyclist. I couldn't do that when I was younger because I was sick as a child and had to have a kidney transplant. I am healthy for now and want begin competing and hopefully one day become a professional cyclist. My questions for you guys is can I still become a Professional even if I'm starting at 21? If I can, how often should I train? Is upper body strength important? Should I weight lift also?

Thanks in advance for taking the time out and reading my questions. Thank you and have a nice day.

You can always try, but there is only one way to determine your ability, and that it trying your best at it. Pro cyclist ride almost every day, hours and hours every day. As a pro, riding will be your job. Everything going into your body is done to maximize riding performance. The hard part will be getting hired and earning your income doing this. The place to start is with local bike shops and suppliers to try to get sponsorship, which would typically be in the way of reduced costs for bikes and parts, which you will need to pay for still.
Good luck

Good advice above, the only way to find out is to try.