Cycling Training Routine

Pazzo

Jan 13, 2012
Hey Guys,

I am new to cycling (about a month and a half in now) and I am really starting to enjoy it! I've always loved riding my bike so I fixe amy old bike up and I'm getting back in the groove. Now that I am taking it more seriously, I realize that I need to get myself a training routine that consists of cycling outside, going to the gym for fitness and figuring out a healthy eating pattern all geared towards cycling.

I'm not really sure where to start, although I have been reading some books at Barnes & Nobles about cycling and have checked out the forums but haven't found the information I am looking for. If you'd like, share your training schedule as well, which might help me better understand how to build one for myself. I've been going to the gym now and getting in shape for about 6-7 months now too so I am already in somewhat of shape.

Thanks!

You're starting the way you should be starting...reading! and keep reading and reading and reading, this is a sport that you will never stop learning, so keep reading. And don't forget there's a wealth of info on the internet too.

Let's get the easy part out of the way first, and that's food. Unless you're racing you don't need expensive food or expensive bike shop boutique bars and mixes. Gatorade diluted 50% works just as good as the expensive drinks at the LBS (Local Bike Shop). In fact I drank Gatorade diluted 50% when I use to race at the Cat 3 level and never needed anything expensive to drink. You can get the big can of Gatorade powder at Walmart for cheap costing you about 10 cents per bottle instead of $1.50 to $2.50 per bottle and you don't get anything special for that money that Gatorade doesn't provide. There's other good drinks too like V8 juice, and [COLOR= rgb(34, 34, 34)]Ovaltine,[/COLOR]