Desperate

ptribble

Mar 30, 2004
I have just turned 62 years old and I have been riding consistently for 20 years plus. About 5 years ago I developed a chronic pain in my right buttock just about where my "sit bone" contacts my saddle. It feels like a hot poker. I BELIEVE it started after a day of pushing big gears in the mountains. It is aggravated when I am in an aero position with my hands on the drops and/or when I make a hard effort, such as into a headwind up a steep incline or a seated sprint. I can ride through the pain, but when it intensifies I have to back off until it fades a bit. Standing helps, but only temporarily. After I ride for 45 minutes to an hour, I can feel the pain in the bottom of my right foot. I do not believe that the problem is my saddle, my position, my cleats, my shoes or a failure to stretch properly. I have eliminated all of those possibilities. It also does not appear that a pinched nerve in my spine is causing the problem. (Stretching helps, but the pain persists.) I believe that this is what some refer to as "piriformis syndrome." I have seen several doctors, physical therapists and an accupuncturist, but no one has been able to help. My fear of the pain makes me avoid hard group rides that I used to like, even though I used to enjoy the challenge. At this point, by process of elimination, I have concluded that surgery is the only solution left. Does anyone have any experience with or knowledge about such surgery? Thanks.