Feet problem and SPD pedals

grandamn

Apr 18, 2011
After the 30 mile mark my feet start to swell up and throb. On the century I knew better and kept loosening my shoes. I searched and am a little confused. I have read multiple replies to this problem.

Are my shoes to tight? They fit comfortable and are even a little loose when I first put them on.

Am I supposed to be pedaling differently with SPD pedals? I read somewhere that your not supposed to push down when pedaling but act more like your scraping the floor applying more pressure in the heel.

I also read about the cleat position but I already but them towards the arch as much as possible because I'm not a sprinter.

Are you using the SPD pedals that use the 2-bolt cleats or are you using the SPD-SL pedals that use the big triangular 3-bolt cleats?

Hmmm, I've been using the SPD-SL pedals and cleats for several years now and haven't had any issues, comfort or performance. That's a nice big contact patch to spread out the weight of your push against the pedal.

Are you feeling pain in a particular spot on your foot/feet? Are the shoes well ventilated?

They seem to have some vents in them. My right foot swells up a lot. I keep loosening my shoe and it keeps filling it up. The pain is mostly around between my toes and the arch. Could this be because I'm using normal cotton socks?

I just wear regular Hanes cotton socks myself and they're fine for me.

Since you are experiencing pain along with the swelling, I'm wondering if you might need some different insoles in your shoes. There used to be a thread on that subject, but I haven't found it yet.

Usually, it's just a few things to check that cause that type of trouble, assuming you don't have some underlying medical problem; good shoes that fit you properly, cleats properly adjusted, and overall bike fit.