freehub protector help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I

Ian

hello, i am pretty new to mtb and practically a virgin to repair. after my last ride, i noticed
while coasting, i hear this god awful clunking sound on my back wheel. after viewing the problem,
this circular clear plastic thing (freehub protector?) is all out of whack. it is not concentrically
aligned with the freewheel nor does it maintain a constant gap between itself and the gears. can i
tear this piece off? what all does it do? i'd hate to have to take my bike in and pay to have
somebody look at this (couldn't find any information on the web either) thanks for any advice in
advance. ian

"Ian" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> hello, i am pretty new to mtb and practically a virgin to repair. after my last ride, i noticed
> while coasting, i hear this god awful clunking sound on my back wheel. after viewing the problem,
> this circular clear plastic thing (freehub protector?) is all out of whack. it is not
> concentrically
aligned
> with the freewheel nor does it maintain a constant gap between itself and the gears. can i tear
> this piece off? what all does it do? i'd hate to have to take my bike in and pay to have somebody
> look at this (couldn't
find
> any information on the web either) thanks for any advice in advance.

Whatcha got there is a "spoke protector", and yes you can remove it. (Remove all reflectors while
you're at it, too, UNLESS you ride on roads at night often.)

Bill "I guarantee ya his chain falls into spokes now" S.

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> "Ian" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> > hello, i am pretty new to mtb and practically a virgin to repair. after my last ride, i noticed
> > while coasting, i hear this god awful clunking sound on my back wheel. after viewing the
> > problem, this circular clear plastic thing (freehub protector?) is all out of whack. it is not