Heart gone mad or what?

mali

Jun 1, 2003
I have started training on a wind trainer at home. I use a heart monitor. I am a novice, with lots of zeal but not much knowledge.
my questions:
1. is it normal a irregular heart rate, e.g. I may be training at 160 bpm and all of a sudden the HRM jumps to 177 stays there for a second and then jumps back to 160. is this normal? at first I thought is was the HRM, but my hubby also uses it, and it does not happen to him.

2. sometimes after training on the trainer, i have chest pains, but it feels like muscles not heart... I know the heart is one big muscle.... but I am not sure . This weekend past, when I woke up i could hardly move because of the pain in my chest area. Could I Be pushing it a bit much on the trainer? I can be very zealous.

In watching the HRM today, I pick up some arrihythmia on the HRM like it misses a beat or something.
I dont have heart problems, and am 32 years, and healthy.
Should I worry?should I Just not overdo it?

Has anyone experienced it?? please spare me a trip to the doctor!!
thanks

Originally posted by mali
please spare me a trip to the doctor!!
thanks

This is your heart! It's a fairly vital organ! Go and see a doctor.

Often HRM's have little spikes and poor data, and this can vary from person to person etc. but if you have any doubts (which you obviously do have) then you should get yourself checked out. How do you know you don't have heart problems? Because you haven't had a heart attack?

Preferably you should get an exercise ECG - I think these are even cumpulsory for getting racing licences in some countries.

Could be interference from something in the immediate area. I find that power lines and even car alarms can send the heart rate through the roof. Do a bit of trial and error with the electrical items in the area.

I have started training on a wind trainer at home. I use a heart monitor. I am a novice, with lots of zeal but not much knowledge.
my questions: