Help ID this bike (mid-80's Murray Serotta?)

pearl-drum-man

Jun 5, 2010
I've had this bike since the late '80's, and have recently dug it out of storage and wanted to know if it was worth refurbishing for use. Based on my research thus far, it appears it may be some variant of a Murray Serotta, though it doesn't appear to be one of the coveted team/Olympic bikes.

Here is some brief history, my Mom purchased the bike for me off of one of her cousins in the late '80's. He was really into cycling, and had a new bike so sold her this one for me. I rode the bike for 4-5 years, and then my brother took it out one day and wrecked it. The bike has been in storage ever since.

I'm no bike expert, but just looking at this thing it seems to be a quality frame (at least for the 1980's). It is extremely light compared to my current mountain bike. Looking at the Murray Serotta pics I have seen online it seems to resemble them in build and style very closely, though I have not seen any whites yet such as the one I have.

Have a look and tell me what you think! Basically I want to figure out if it is worth getting back on the road or if it is nothing more than scrap metal. I will try to get additional info (serial #'s and the like later).

I can tell you immediately what the value is if you can list the components...assuming their original equipment that is.

pearl-drum-man said:
I've had this bike since the late '80's, and have recently dug it out of storage and wanted to know if it was worth refurbishing for use. Based on my research thus far, it appears it may be some variant of a Murray Serotta, though it doesn't appear to be one of the coveted team/Olympic bikes.

Here is some brief history, my Mom purchased the bike for me off of one of her cousins in the late '80's. He was really into cycling, and had a new bike so sold her this one for me. I rode the bike for 4-5 years, and then my brother took it out one day and wrecked it. The bike has been in storage ever since.