Hi/Lo Gore-tex shoes in the rain?

R

Robert

Hello,

I plan to do a bit of walking in England, rain and all. I plan to purchase a pair of good gore-tex
shoes for this. However, since I am new to this, I ask someone with experience --- does the height
of the shoe make a big difference? I would rather buy regular low-cut shoes, but I do not know how
much the pants cuff will keep the rain out of such shoes. Am I better off getting the mid-cut or
high boot-cut shoes?

Thank you.

Robert wrote:

> I plan to do a bit of walking in England, rain and all. I plan to purchase a pair of good gore-tex
> shoes for this.

Firstly, many are of the opinion that gore tex is unnecessary and on the whole I'd agree. A good
pair of boots properly treated with Nikwax or similar will keep your feet dry. However, I have found
that walking in rain for days on end, when the proofing wears off the leather does get saturated
with water and your feet do get a little damp, especially as the boots get older.

My experiences with Brasher gore-tex boots have been very good, my feet have never got wet, even
when the proofing has worn off. The downside with gore-tex boots is that they are more sweaty than
normal boots in dry weather.

Ideally therefore, I'd prefer gore-tex boots for extended wet weather, normal leather boots for more
general conditions and lightweight fabric boots for dry summer walking.

> However, since I am new to this, I ask someone with experience --- does the height of the shoe
> make a big difference? I would rather buy regular low-cut shoes, but I do not know how much the
> pants cuff will keep the rain out of such shoes. Am I better off getting the mid-cut or high boot-
> cut shoes?

The main problem here IMO is not so much rain getting in, but walking through boggy ground and
crossing streams. It's very easy to step in a bog that's more than a few inches deep and suddenly
you get a boot full of water. There's a lot of boggy ground in the hills and it's often difficult if