I'm officially at a loss as to what is going on.

joroshiba

Dec 19, 2012
Alright basis of my conundrum is thus: I used to train mostly based on HR and PE and switched to power in December, along with firing my coach and starting to work with myself. Since then power numbers have gone up for L2 and L3, easier to push at those levels, L5 as well has gone up and my sprint power has gone up. However, I seem to be unable to improve my 20min power, but my HR at that power has dropped a LOT. I keep an eye on HR to check on fatigue and over the last couple weeks noted it was a bit flat so I took a rest week... came back and it is still as low as ever.

More detail: Long L2 rides (4+ hours) when I started training with power were around 130w, and I could push 140w but it hurt a lot. Now I regularly do ~160w. (all average powers on fairly flat steady loops) Last week I did 6 hours @ 148w, NP of 185 on a hilly, variable ride. My best 5 minute power I could push when I was doing profiling stuff in December was 245w, and I can now hit 260w repeats for 5x5min, 280-290w for a single 5 min effort. My 20 minute efforts are remarkably stagnant though, I was doing 2x20's at 215w in December and now I can hit 220w. My HR for these efforts used to be ~177bpm and it today I did them at 164bpm. I've tried not looking at the power to see if I'm holding myself back and I've tried pacing based on HR. My legs just seem to die when I do the efforts any harder. It starts out feeling easy and at minute 5 or so it starts feeling like death, the legs start feeling heavy and around minute 10 I seem to just not be capable of pushing it anymore. Perceived exertion wise these are just as hard as they were before, but my the rest of my power profile has shifted up ~20-30w yet at 20 minutes I seem to just suck. I've been doing regular 2x20's as well, and mixing it up occasionally with longer work. I have hit NP for an hour higher than this as well, it seems oddly unique to doing extended sustained hard