Light or aerodynamic?

originalolol

Jun 3, 2006
What is more important, weight or aerodynamics

especially in terms of rolling resistance, ie wheels, etc

I would think light weight would help in your climbs, while aero dynamics (ie aero tubes, aero position with aero bars etc) would probably help in "rolling" as u describe..

Thats what i think, though take it with a pinch of salt as i'm new to the sport.

originalolol said:

Well, depends on what sort of riding you do.
For most of us, weight is important, but only up to a point. If your bike's under 9-10Kg then it's probably more important to lose some weight off your butt than your bottom bracket.

If you do a lot of flat roads/time trials, then aerodynamics are more important. A lot of time trial bikes are actually heavier than equivalent road bikes as the extra momentum is more useful than liveliness/ acceleration. Many aerodynamic disc wheels are also heavier than conventional wheels - when Moser broke the hour record, he had a special heavy rear wheel built, which acted as a flywheel and helped him get an enormous gear through the dead spot on the pedal stroke.

If you climb a lot of mountains, then weight starts to get more important, but setup, position and pedalling style are way higher up the list of priorities than having a super-lightweight bike. Cycling Weekly (a magazine in the UK, rather than cycling weakly, which is what I do...), recently published some figures and research on the subject. In a nutshell, it said that for an average club racer, ascending a 6% gradient, each extra kilo you're carrying loses you about 8.5 metres per kilometre of climbing. Only you can decide how important those 8.5 metres are!

originalolol said: