mtb tools and things to have

LBguy

May 21, 2004
Im really new to mountain biking and just want to get a 'wish list' together of essentials I will need.

So far I have: bike (trek 3700), i know it's a bit on the cheap side but im a poor college kid who just needed something to learn on. Also just ordered some biking shorts, have a helmet, gloves, and I already had a mini-pump.

I plan on getting . . . .
camelbak (any recommedations?)
tools (what do i need and recommendations? anything try this? )
chain lube
first aid kit?

thanks
-george

Originally posted by LBguy
Im really new to mountain biking and just want to get a 'wish list' together of essentials I will need.

So far I have: bike (trek 3700), i know it's a bit on the cheap side but im a poor college kid who just needed something to learn on. Also just ordered some biking shorts, have a helmet, gloves, and I already had a mini-pump.

I plan on getting . . . .
camelbak (any recommedations?)
tools (what do i need and recommendations? anything try this? )
chain lube
first aid kit?

thanks
-george

camelbak.... get as big as you can ever use.... you don't need to load it for short rides. Often on sale... shop around.

Tools.... get your ideas at Park Tool:

<http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/toollists.shtml>

There are other good manufacturers such as Pedros. Sometimes you can find a package deal. Learn how to use them via the reapir help section on Park Tool and Sheldon Brown's web pages.

First aid kit is a good idea too, but besides some basic.... maybe a "backpacker" version with anti-septic wipes.

Mini-tool, spare tube(s) (I carry mine in a Ziplock bag with talc in the bag), under saddle bag like Topeaks Survival:

<http://www.topeak.com/2004/products/bag_016.html>

Take a copy of your drivers licence and health care insurance card with you. I laminated mine so they stay in shape when you get caught in the rain. Have a cell phone in the saddle bag... I put mine in a ziplock bag.